2017-2018 Catalog

Fees and Refunds

College fees and tuition assessments are based on the applicant's residence. Fees may be paid by cash, check, money order or credit card and must be paid on or before the dates indicated on the student's schedule. For advanced registration, all fees are due and payable on the date specified at the time of registration. For regular registration, which is held immediately prior to the start of the semester, the fees are due and payable at the time of registration, except as authorized by law or State Board of Education Rules. Exceptions include special courses with registration and payment dates to be established by the director of Financial Aid, Veterans fee deferment and Florida National Guard fee waivers.

Students who have been awarded financial aid or who are eligible for Bright Futures scholarships may have their tuition and fees deferred at the time of registration. However, if financial aid is denied or the award does not cover a student's financial obligation, the student will be responsible for payment of the outstanding obligation.

All debts incurred due to denial or insufficient coverage must be satisfied no later than 60 calendar days after the first day of class, regardless of any pending financial aid (Florida State Board of Education Rule 6A-14.054). Students who do not resolve their outstanding account balance at the college will result in the referral of outstanding balances to a collection agency. Following turnover to the collection agency, the student can only pay through the collection agency and additional fees will be assessed at that time.

Student financial responsibilities include library fines and obligations, parking fines, returned checks, credit card charge backs, student loan repayment, and return of borrowed college equipment. Unless all fees and financial responsibilities have been satisfied, a student may not register for a subsequent semester and, in some cases, the student may be prohibited from attending classes in the current semester. Additionally, official student transcripts will not be released until all obligations have been satisfied.

The student fees are in effect at the date of printing of this catalog. They are subject to change by action of the Florida Legislature and the College District Board of Trustees.

Returned checks must be paid within 15 days from receipt of the notice. The full amount of the returned check plus a service charge dependent upon the face amount of the check will be due. If the returned check is not paid within the time specified, it will be given to the State Attorney's Office for collection.

In the event of a disputed credit card charge, a charge back fee of $20 will be assessed in addition to the full amount due.

Florida Statute 1009.28 requires students enrolled in the same developmental class within a skill area more than two times shall pay fees at 100 percent of the full cost of instruction. Students who withdraw or fail a class due to extenuating circumstances may be granted an exception only once for each class, provided approval is granted by procedures established by the president or his designee and the student has demonstrated reasonable effort to succeed.